Advisory Board

The SIEPR Advisory Board is the board of directors for the Institute. This board helps to guide and support SIEPR. Advisory Board members make both an intellectual and financial commitment that is a key component in SIEPR's ability to achieve its mission. They are also active in helping to facilitate and disseminate research.

The SIEPR Advisory Board has several subcommittees that work with staff and the director to accomplish the mission and goals of the organization. The Executive Committee reviews the goals and long-range plans of the institute; the Development Committee assists with plans and specific requests for support; the Communications Committee works on the messaging and public relations functions of the institute; and the Program Committee helps to establish criteria and contacts for speakers for various events. These subcommittees reflect the Advisory Board’s commitment to and involvement with the institute.

Board Members

  • Henry J. Aaron
    Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution

  • Laura K. Arrillaga-Andreessen
    Founder and Chairman, Stanford Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society (PACS); Founder and Chairman Emeritus, SV2

  • Orley C. Ashenfelter
    Joseph Douglas Green 1895 Professor of Economics, Princeton University

  • Elizabeth E. Bailey
    Professor Emeritus of Business and Public Policy, University of Pennsylvania

  • Steve Ballmer

  • Mary G. F. Bitterman
    President, The Bernard Osher Foundation

  • Susan L. Bostrom
    Former Executive Vice President, Cisco Systems, Inc.

  • Datong Chen
    Co-Founder and Managing Partner, West Summit Capital

  • Winston H. Chen
    Chairman, Paramitas Foundation

  • Jonathan Coslet
    Senior Partner and CIO, Texas Pacific Group

  • William H. Davidow
    Founder and General Partner, Mohr Davidow Ventures

  • Feng Deng
    Founder and General Partner, Northern Light Venture Capital

  • Dixon R. Doll
    Co-Founder and General Partner, DCM

  • William C. Edwards
    Partner, Edwards Partners

  • John Freidenrich
    Regis Management Company, LLC

  • Gary Gauba
    President, CenturyLink Cognilytics

  • Frederick L. A. Grauer
    Chairman, Purfresh, Inc.

  • Patrick W. Gross
    Chairman, The Lovell Group

  • Blake R. Grossman
    Managing Partner, CHJ Capital Management LLC

  • John A. Gunn, Chair
    Former Chairman and CEO, Dodge & Cox, Investment Managers

  • Wallace R. Hawley, Chair Emeritus
    Founder, InterWest Partners

  • Noosheen Hashemi
    President and Co-Founder, The HAND Foundation

  • Robert B. Hellman, Jr.
    CEO & Managing Director, American Infrastructure MLP Funds

  • Walter Hewlett
    Consulting Professor of Music, Stanford University

  • Hilary Hoynes
    Haas Distinguished Chair of Economic Disparities,
    Professor of Economics and Public Policy, UC Berkeley

  • Benny T. Hu
    Chairman, CDIB BioScience Venture Management, Inc.

  • Yongshan Huang
    Trustee, Superintendent,
    ZhouTong Institute of Security Investment

  • Laura K. Ipsen
    Senior Vice President,
    Global Industries Solutions Group, Oracle Corporation

  • Franklin P. Johnson, Jr.
    Founder, Asset Management Company

  • Richard B. Kapnick
    Partner, Katten & Temple, LLP

  • Harry Kellogg
    Vice-Chairman Emeritus, Silicon Valley Bank

  • John B. Kleinheinz
    President, Kleinheinz Capital Partners, Inc.

  • Sue Koffel
    Managing Partner, CMF Capital

  • Steven W. Kohlhagen
    Former Head of Fixed Income Division, Wachovia Bank;
    Former Professor, Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley

  • Barnaby J. Levin
    Partner, Managing Director
    Levin Wealth Management at HighTower Advisors LLC

  • Dan’l Lewin
    Corporate Vice President, Technology and Civic Engagement, Microsoft


  • James Liang
    Co-Founder, Chairman of the Board, and Chief Executive Officer, International, Ltd.

  • John P. Lipsky
    Senior Fellow, The Paul H. Nitze School for Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University

  • Donald L. Lucas, Chair Emeritus
    Private Venture Capitalist

  • Christopher S. Lynch
    Director, AIG; Non-Executive Chairman, Freddie Mac;
    Former National Managing Partner, Financial Services Practice, KPMG

  • Eff W. Martin
    Founding Partner, Anthos Capital

  • Susan R. McCaw
    President, COM Investments;
    Member, Stanford University Board of Trustees

  • George E. McCown
    Operating Director, American Infrastructure MLP Fund

  • Bowen H. McCoy, Chair Emeritus

  • Burton J. McMurtry
    Retired Venture Capitalist

  • Anthony Meier
    General Partner, The Meier Group

  • Thomas C. Melzer
    Managing Director, RiverVest Venture Partners

  • Gordon E. Moore
    Chairman Emeritus of the Board, Intel Corporation

  • Robert B. Okun
    Senior Partner & Chief Investment Officer, Oak Hill Advisors, L.P.

  • Ken Olivier
    Chairman Emeritus, Dodge & Cox, Investment Managers

  • William J. Perry, Chair Emeritus
    Michael and Barbara Berberian Professor (Emeritus), Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies and School of Engineering , Stanford University

  • James Poterba
    President, National Bureau of Economic Research; Mitsui Professor of Economics, MIT

  • Michael Rashes
    Principal, Bracebridge Capital

  • Kanwal Rekhi
    Managing Director, Inventus Capital Partners

  • Condoleezza Rice
    Denning Professor, Center for Global Business and the Economy, Stanford Graduate School of Business; Thomas and Barbara Stephenson Senior Fellow on Public Policy, Hoover Institution, Stanford University; 66th Secretary of State

  • Jesse Rogers
    Co-Founder & Managing Director, Altamont Capital Partners

  • Eric Schmidt
    Executive Chairman, Google

  • Edward C. Schultz III
    Executive Vice President, Northern California Market President & Head of Technology Lending, OneWest Bank

  • Charles R. Schwab
    Chairman of the Board, Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.

  • George P. Shultz, Honorary Chair
    Distinguished Fellow, Hoover Institution

  • Eugene B. Shanks, Jr.
    Former President, Bankers Trust Company;
    Director, Freddie Mac, ACE Ltd.

  • Adam Shapiro
    Co-Founder, East Rock Capital

  • John F. Sandy Smith
    Senior Partner, Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP

  • Thomas F. Stephenson
    Partner, Sequoia Capital

  • Tad N. Taube, Chair Emeritus
    Chairman, Taube Philanthropies;
    Honorary Consul of the Republic of Poland

  • John T. Thompson
    Vice Chairman, Global CEO and Board Practice, Heidrick & Struggles

  • David Topper
    Operating Partner, General Atlantic

  • Victor Trione
    Chairman of the Board, Luther Burbank Savings

  • Mark A. Wolfson
    Founder and Managing Partner, Jasper Ridge Partners