Economic Summit 2013

Printer friendly version in PDF format

Plenary Sessions

7:15 – 8:00 Registration and Breakfast
Moderator: Steve Kohlhagen, Member, SIEPR Advisory Board

8:00 Welcome
John Shoven, Wallace R. Hawley Director, SIEPR; Charles R. Schwab Professor of Economics

8:00 – 9:00 Opening Remarks
Mohamed El-Erian, CEO and co-CIO, PIMCO

9:00 – 10:20 SESSION I: Comprehensive Tax Reform
Moderator: Jim Poterba, President, National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER); Mitsui Professor of Economics, MIT; Member, SIEPR Advisory Board
Leonard Burman, Daniel Patrick Moynihan Professor of Public Affairs, Maxwell School, Syracuse University
R. Glenn Hubbard, Dean, Columbia Business School; former chair of the Council of Economic Advisors (CEA)

10:20 - 10:40 Break

10:40 – 12:00 SESSION II: Health Policy After Obamacare
Ezekiel Emanuel, MD, PhD, Diane V.S. Levy and Robert M. Levy University Professor; Professor of Health Care Management; and Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy, Wharton; Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Mark McClellan, MD, PhD
, Director, Engelberg Center for Health Care Reform and Leonard D. Schaeffer Chair in Health Policy Studies, The Brookings Institution

12:00 – 12:45 Lunch

12:45 – 1:30 Lunch Remarks:  The Budget, the Deficit and the Economy:  The View from Washington
David Wessel, Author, Red Ink (Random House 2012); Economics Editor, The Wall Street Journal; and Pulitzer Prize Winner

1:50 – 3:10 SESSION III: The Future of Europe and What's at Stake for the United States
Janice Eberly, Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy, Department of U. S. the Treasury
John Lipsky
, Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), Johns Hopkins University; Member, SIEPR Advisory Board

3:10 – 4:10 SESSION IV: Who Gets What?: The New Economics of Matchmaking and Market Design
Alvin Roth, Craig and Susan McCaw Professor of Economics, Stanford University; 2012 Nobel Laureate, Economics; Senior Fellow, SIEPR

4:10 - 4:30 Break

4:30 – 5:45 Critical Issue Sessions - Panels will address four important topics of the year (see below):
Can India Keep Pace?, Climate Change Policy: Challenges and Opportunities, The Online Learning Revolution, Designing California's New Health Care Exchange

6:00 – 6:45 Reception

6:45 – 9:00 Dinner and Keynote Address
Thomas Friedman, Foreign Affairs Journalist, The New York Times

Critical Issue Sessions

4:30 – 5:45 Critical Issue Sessions and Panels

Four simultaneous sessions; please choose one to attend.

Session I - The Online Learning Revolution Fisher Conference Center in Arrillaga
Moderator: Wally Hawley, Co-Founder, InterWest Partners; member, SIEPR Advisory Board
Randy Best, Chairman, Best Associates
Daphne Koller, Rajeev Motwoni Professor of Computer Science, Stanford University; Co-Founder, Coursera
Minli Virdone, Head of Strategy and Programs, Khan Academy

Session II - Climate Change Policy: Challenges and Opportunities Fisher Conference Center in Arrillaga
Moderator: George Shultz, Distinguished Fellow, Hoover Institution; Honorary Chair, SIEPR Advisory Board
Lawrence Goulder, The Shuzo Nishihara Professor in Environmental and Resource Economics at Stanford University; Director of the Stanford Environmental and Energy Policy Analysis Center (SEEPAC); Senior Fellow, SIEPR
Charles Kolstad, Senior Fellow, SIEPR
Robert Weisenmiller, Chairman, California Energy Commission

Session III - Can India Keep Pace? Koret-Taube Conference Center, Room 120 at SIEPR
Moderator: Anjini Kochar, India Program Director, SCID
Deepak Kamra, General Partner, Canaan Partners
Nagesh Parthasarathi, Consul General of India (SF)
T.N. Srinivasan, Samuel C. Park Jr. Professor (Emeritus) of Economics and Professor (Emeritus) of International Area Studies, Yale University

Session IV - Designing California’s New Health Care Exchange Koret-Taube Conference Center, Room 130 at SIEPR
Moderator: John Freidenrich, Regis Management Company, LLC; member, SIEPR Advisory Board
Tom MaCurdy, Professor of Economics, Stanford University; Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution and SIEPR
Marian Mulkey, Director of Health Reform and Public Programs, California Healthcare Foundation
Sarah Varney, Senior Reporter, NPR and Kaiser Family Foundation