Skip to content Skip to navigation
May 20, 2016 - 12:00am

SIEPR Policy Forum on the Affordable Care Act: Is the Health Care System Any Healthier?

SIEPR Policy Forum on the Affordable Care Act: Is the Health Care System Any Healthier?

Stanford students, faculty and SIEPR affiliates are welcome to join us for a half-day of discussion with leading experts from business, policy, and academia about the Affordable Care Act and exciting developments in the health sector.

We gratefully acknowledge the support provided by the Koret Foundation.

Read our coverage

Watch the videos from the event

Moderator: Mark Duggan, The Trione Director of SIEPR; The Wayne and Jodi Cooperman Professor of Economics, Stanford University

SIEPR Gunn Building
Koret-Taube Conference Center
366 Galvez St.
Stanford University
Ellen Moore
(650) 724-9278

May 20, 2016

11:30am to 12:15pm
Patient-Generated Data: From Nice-to-Have to Must-Have
Presenter(s) : 

Thomas Goetz, Co-Founder and CEO of Iodine, former Executive Editor of WIRED

12:15pm to 12:30pm
Pick up box lunches
12:30pm to 1:15pm
Recent Developments in the Coordination of Medical Care
Presenter(s) : 


Amir Dan Rubin, Executive Vice President, Optum, and Acting CEO, Optum360; former President and CEO, Stanford Health Care

1:15pm to 2:00pm
California’s Experience with the Affordable Care Act
Presenter(s) : 


John Bertko, Chief Actuary and Director of Research for the State Health Benefit Exchange, Covered California

Jay Bhattacharya, Professor of Medicine, Stanford Medical Center; Senior Fellow at SIEPR and FSI; Director of the Program on Medical Outcomes

2:10pm to 2:15pm
2:15pm to 3:00pm
The Impact of the Affordable Care Act at the National Level
Presenter(s) : 


Kate Bundorf, Associate Professor of Health Research and Policy, Stanford University School of Medicine; Associate Professor, by Courtesy, at the Stanford Graduate School of Business; Senior Fellow, SIEPR

Larry Levitt, Senior Vice President for Special Initiatives at the Kaiser Family Foundation and Senior Advisor to the President of the Foundation