Skip to content Skip to navigation
March 12, 2010 - 12:00am

SIEPR Economic Summit 2010

SIEPR Economic Summit 2010

SIEPR Economic Summit featuring Jamie Dimon, CEO and Chairman, JP Morgan Chase and Co. and Lawrence Summers, Director of the National Economic Council and Assistant to the President for Economic Policy.


8:00- 9:00   

Moderator:                  Steve Kohlhagen
Opening Remarks:      Jamie Dimon, Chairman and CEO, JP Morgan Chase


SESSION I:  Economic World View
John Lipsky, First Deputy Managing Director, IMF

10:20 - 12:00

SESSION II:  Federal Tax Policy in 2010 and Beyond
William Gale, Vice President and Director, Economic Studies; Director, 
Retirement Security Project; Co-director, Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center 
James Poterba, president National Bureau of Economic Research; 
Professor of Economics, MIT; SIEPR Board member

12:45 -1:40 Lunch Remarks      Jean Claude Trichet, President, European Central Bank
2:00 - 3:10

SESSION III:  The Remaining Healthcare Policy Agenda 
Keith Hennessey, Former Director of the National Economic Council; Lecturer, GSB, Stanford University
Alan M. Garber, M.D., Ph.D.; Henry J. Kaiser Jr. Professor, Professor of Medicine; Director, Center for Health Policy and Center for Primary Care and Outcomes Research

3:10 - 4:10

SESSION IV:  Uncommon Sense      
Gary Becker, Nobel Prize Winner; Professor of Economics and Sociology, Graduate School of Business, University of Chicago

4:30 - 5:45 Critical Issue Sessions
6:00 - 6:45 Reception and Dinner with KEYNOTE
6:45 - 9:00

Lawrence Summers, Director of the National Economic Council


Critical Issues Sessions and Panelists

4:30 - 5:45 pm

Session I

When Will Jobs Return:  Labor Markets and the Recovery
Moderator: Orley Ashenfelter, Professor of Economics Princeton; SIEPR Advisory Board Member
Eddie Lazear, Stanford University
Ed McKelvey, Senior US Economist, Goldman Sachs

Session II

The Economics of Philanthropy
Moderator: Bowen McCoy, Buzz McCoy Associates, Inc; SIEPR Advisory Board Member
Paul Brest, President, Hewlett Foundation
Laura Arrillaga-Andreessen, Co-Founder and Chairman, Stanford Center on Philanthropy and Civil, Society (PACS) Founder and Chairman Emeritus, SV2 - Silicon Valley, Social Venture Fund

Session III

California's Mounting Budget
Moderator: Fred Grauer, Senior Adviser, BlackRock Inc.; SIEPR Advisory Board member 
Joe Nation, Stanford University
Ana Matosantos, Director of Finance, State of California

Session IV

Future of Personalized Medicine
Moderator: Pitch Johnson, General Partner, Asset Management Company, SIEPR Advisory Board Member 
Elizabeth Holmes, President and CEO, Theranos
Brook Byers, Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers



Frances C. Arrillaga Alumni Center