Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Main content start

SIEPR Economic Summit 2011

Event Details:

Friday, March 11, 2011
9:00am - 9:00pm PST


Frances C. Arrillaga Alumni Center
McCaw Hall
326 Galvez St
Stanford, CA 94305
United States

This event is by invitation only featuring NYC Mayor Bloomberg; Mervyn King, Governor, Bank of England; SIEPR's Honorary Chairman George Shultz and Nobel Prize winner in Economics, Gary Becker; international economist and author, Hernando de Soto; and Senator Alan Simpson along with a host of others.  See Agenda for more information

Opening Remarks   

The Moment of Truth

Senator Alan Simpson (RET.), co-chair of the National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform

9-10:20  SESSION I:   Four Ideas for the War on Drugs   

George Shultz, Distinguished Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Gary Becker, Nobel Laureate and Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University

10:40-12 pm    SESSION II:  A Conversation with Corporate Leaders on the Business Climate

Safra Catz, President, Oracle

Michael White, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, DirecTV

12:45-1:40   Lunch Remarks: Stability of the International Monetary and Financial System     

Mervyn King, Governor, Bank of England

1:55-3:10        SESSION III:  Education and Economics

Caroline Hoxby, The Scott and Donya Bommer Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences and Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution 
Michelle Rhee, Former Chancellor, District of Columbia Public Schools

3:10-4:10        SESSION IV: The Great Recession: The Missing remedy from a Third-World Perspective     

Hernando de Soto, President, Institute for Liberty and Democracy; author and economist

4:30-5:45    Critical Issue Sessions: 6-6:45          Reception  6:45-9:00     Dinner with


Michael R. Bloomberg, Mayor of NYC

Critical Issue Sessions

Session I     The Long-Run Fiscal Outlook (SIEPR Building—Koret Taube Conference Center, Room 130)
Moderator:  Meg Whitman, SIEPR Advisory Board Member
Henry Aaron, Bruce and Virginia MacLaury Senior Fellow, Economic Studies Program, Brookings Institution; SIEPR Board member
Donald Marron, Director, Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center


Session II    Financial Reform (SIEPR Building—Koret Taube Conference Room, Room 120)
Moderator: Sandy Smith, Senior Partner, Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, PLLC; SIEPR Advisory Board member
Joseph Grundfest, Senior Faculty, Arthur and Toni Rock Center for Corporate Governance, SIEPR Senior Fellow
Eugene Shanks, member of Freddie Mac Board of Directors; SIEPR Board member


Session III   Inflation/Deflation (Fisher Conference Center—Arrillaga Alumni Center)
Moderator:   Robert Hellman, CEO and Managing Director, American Infrastructure MLP Fund; SIEPR Advisory Board member
Donald Kohn, Senior Fellow, Economic Studies Program, Brookings Institution
Robert Heller, former member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System


Session IV    Cyber Security (Fisher Conference Center—Arrillaga Alumni Center) 
Moderator:   Gregory Rosston, Deputy Director, SIEPR
John Mitchell, Mary and Gordon Crary Family Professor and Professor of Computer Science and (by courtesy) Electrical Engineering
Andy Ozment, Director, Cybersecurity, National Security Staff, White House
Ingrid Beierly, Business Leader, Cyber Security and Investigations, Visa Inc.

Related Topics

Explore More Events