Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Main content start

SIEPR Economic Summit 2012

Event Details:

Friday, March 9, 2012
7:30am - 9:00pm PST


Frances C. Arrillaga Alumni Center
McCaw Hall
326 Galvez St
Stanford, CA 94305
United States

SIEPR Economic Summit 2012 with keynote Jeffrey R. Immelt Chairman and CEO, GE will also feature Economics Nobel winner, Jim Heckman from the University of Chicago, and John Lipsky Distinguished Visiting Scholar, School for Advanced International Studies, Washington, DC; Former First Deputy Managing Director, IMF and SIEPR Advisory Board Member along with Senator Kent Conrad (ND) Chairman of the Senate Budget Committee.


Moderator: Steve Kohlhagen
, SIEPR Advisory Board member

7:30-8:00 Breakfast

8-9:00 Opening Remarks: The Global Economic Outlook
John Lipsky, Distinguished Visiting Scholar, School for Advanced International Studies, Washington, DC; former First Deputy Managing Director, IMF and Member, SIEPR Advisory Board

9-10:20 SESSION I: Perspectives on Economic Policy and the Economy
Laura D. Tyson, S.K. and Angela Chan Chair in Global Management, Haas Business and Public Policy Group, UC Berkeley; former Chairman of the President’s Council of Economic Advisors 
Michael Boskin, Tully M. Friedman Professor of Economics; Hoover Institution Senior Fellow; SIEPR Senior Fellow and former Chairman of the President’s Council of Economic Advisors 

10:40-12 noon SESSION II: CEO Perspectives on the Economy 
John C. Martin, PhD, Chairman and CEO, Gilead Sciences 
Meg Whitman, President and CEO, Hewlett-Packard; Member, SIEPR Advisory Board

12:45-1:30 Lunch Remarks: The Skills Problem
Jim Heckman, Nobel Laureate in Economics and Henry Schultz Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Economics, University of Chicago 

1:50-3:10 SESSION III: The Long-run Budget Outlook
Kent Conrad, U.S. Senator from North Dakota and Chairman of the Senate Budget Committee
G. William Hoagland, Vice President, Federal Affairs, Cigna Corporation

3:10-4:10 SESSION IV: An Institutional Approach to the End of Western Ascendancy
Niall Ferguson, Laurence A. Tisch Professor of History, Harvard University; author

4:30-5:45 Critical Issue Sessions

6-6:45 Reception and Dinner with KEYNOTE:

6:45-9:00 Jeffrey R. Immelt, Chairman and CEO, GE 

Critical Issue Sessions

Session I 
Currency Markets: Risk and Returns 
Moderator: Barnaby Levin, Partner, Managing Director, HighTower Advisers LLC; Chief Investment Officer, Levin & Lyon Wealth Management;SIEPR Advisory Board member 
Sergio Rebelo, Tokai Bank Professor of International Finance, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
Martin Eichenbaum, Ethel and John Lindgren Professor of Economics;
Co-Director, Center for International Economics and Development, Northwestern University
Kieran Osborne, CFA, Merk Investments, LLC

Session II
US Government as a VC
Moderator: George McCown, Managing Director, American Infrastructure MLP Fund; SIEPR Advisory Board member 
Steve Westly, Managing Partner, The Westly Group 
Lenny Mendonca, Director, McKinsey & Company

Session III
US-China Economic Relations 
Moderator: Dixon Doll, Co-founder and General Partner, DCM-Doll Capital Management; SIEPR Advisory Board member
Steve Krasner, Stephen D. Graham and H. Stuart Professor, International Relations Stanford; Senior Associate Dean, Social Sciences; Senior Fellow and Deputy Director at the Freeman Spogli Institute, and Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution and at the Stanford Center for International Development (SCID)
Nick Hope, Director, Stanford Center for International Development (SCID) 

Session IV
Financial Innovation and the Economic Crisis
Moderator: Steve Kohlhagen, SIEPR Advisory Board member
Tanya Beder, Chairman & CEO, SBCC Group Inc.
Myron Scholes, Frank E. Buck Professor of Finance, Emeritus, Stanford Graduate School of Business; Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences; and co-originator of the Black-Scholes options pricing mode.
Jeremy Bulow, Richard Stepp Professor of Economics

Related Topics

Explore More Events